Hiking to Fort Saint Micheal

While researching my trip I was on the lookout for ancient castles and fortresses that I could easily visit either by public transportation or on foot. The operative term here is, easily. On the map, Fort Saint Micheal looked to fit the bill. A short ferry ride from Zadar and then about a 5 km walk to the fort.

Well, maps have a way of distorting reality. I really should have checked the elevation gain before setting off. Distance and elevation are two things that can be researched and accounted for, but there is one variable that can’t be anticipated. The weather. Of course, I understand summer in Croatia is going to be hot, but I didn’t expect 37 degrees, but a dry heat, and absolutely no shade on the trail.

I have no idea how I was able to complete 12-mile road marches complete with a 40-pound rucksack, full battle rattle, and a loaded M16 with attached M203 grenade launcher. I suppose being 20+ years younger has a lot to do with it.

Fast-forward to current times and now I’m being passed on the trail by French women in their 50s. Damn, I need to get into better shape. The hike in the scorching heat was tough. I’m glad I brought plenty of water with me as there were no oases anywhere on the path.

As I said, the walk was no picnic, but it was worth the effort. The flora of the region is so different from what I am used to in Japan and completely different from where I grew up in Montana. In fact, it turned out that the hike was the best part of the day.

The fort itself was a little bit of a disappointment. It’s not maintained very well and is falling apart, but the views from the top of the fort were spectacular. So all in all, the tough climb in the desert- like-heat was very much worth it. But in the future, I will do that little bit extra when it comes to planning a hike. As we say in the intelligence field, knowledge is power.

Leave a Reply